Job Interview Tips U.S.

Useful tips for job interviews in the U.S.

So… Since I am graduating this May, I might as well do my best to get a job, right? I first searched a lot in Europe (except France), as I really wanted to go back there and be closer to my family and friends. But after a hundreds application sent and no answers or some negative ones, I gave up on Europe, and focused on the U.S.

I wanted to share some useful tips with you!

1. It’s going fast: I sent my resumé the night before or in the morning and got calls during the afternoon to set up an interview.

2. Be prepared to move: Most of the companies will ask you for a face-to-face interview, regardless of where you live.

3. Use sites such as: CareerBuilder, ZipRecruiter, Monster …

interview-in-process

Advices

When it comes to the actual interview, here are some advices:

  • Bring a printed copy of your resume to each of your interviews
  • Dress business professional
  • Don’t be late!
  • Research information about the company: when was it founded? what does it do? what different services does it offer?
  • Carefully read the job description and be sure to know what will be expected from you in order to be able to talk about your capabilities.
  • 2 to 3 rounds interviews: Most companies I have been interviewed at asked me for a 1st, 2nd and even 3rd interview sometimes.

The first interviews I had lasted for about 15-20 mins; it was very fast.

The second interview is either a 45mins sit down or it is going on the field (in my case I was following an employee doing door-to-door marketing) with a different person and go through different questions.

The third interview that I had in one company was with yet another employee, who just asked me about my day and how I felt. I also had to answer a questionnaire about my day, some questions about myself, and about the company. He then asked the employee with whom I spent the day how I did and if he would recommend me, which will determine if they hire me or not.

Here are the questions that I constantly had at interviews:

  • Tell me about yourself: generally I told them my study background and my last work experience.
  • What motivates you? A good answer would include results, satisfaction, progression, money, power.
  • How would you define success?
  • What are your goals?
  • Where do you see yourself in 5 years? 10 years?
  • What is the difference between direct and indirect marketing? Pros and cons?
  • What are your strengths and weaknesses?

Have a look at this article on how to ace the interview.

The companies’ structure were similar. Basically, they were looking to fill entry-level positions in order to traine someone from the ground up. They want applicants to be able to learn everything there and to be trained within a year in order to be able to independently manage offices elsewhere. That is why having a student mentality is also important here! Ask a lot of questions!

Capture d’écran 2015-04-21 à 22.14.01

Optional Training Program

For International Students, in order to be able to legally work in the U.S. and since you have a F-1 student visa, you will need to apply for an OPT.

  • It lasts for 12 months
  • You need to find a job directly related to your studies
  • It costs $380
  • You do not need to have a job to apply for an OPT, you can still be looking for one when applying
  • Try to apply as soon as you can

After your OPT time is expired, you will need to ask the company is they are willing to sponsor you for a work visa. If you do a great job, they will definitely do it!

 

Do you guys have do’s and don’ts for interviews to share?

 

©Copyright- All pictures are my own. Please do not take them without permission. If they aren’t mine, pictures are linked to the original website.

4 thoughts on “Job Interview Tips U.S.

Leave a Reply

